Log Cabin Visitor Center

Back Next 04 E. Main, Ft Pierre, SD 57532 – Corner of Main Street and Hwy 83 The original Log Cabin Visitor Center (30’ x 50’) was built in 1975 with log walls/beams, cedar shake shingle roofing, pine wood ceiling/flooring, and a full basement costing...

Albert Wheelon

Back Next 902 East Capitol Built in 1906 by Albert Wheelon, a real estate, loan and insurance agent. This residence with its peaked roof is an example of the Gothic Revival architecture that became popular in the late nineteenth...

B.A. Cummins

Back Next 503 N Euclid The original building on this site in 1895 was enlarged by B.A. Cummins, a Pierre banker, into this Neo-Colonial residence. A wide wrap-around porch is supported by Ionic columns and ornate turned balusters. Current owners are Valerie and Robert...

Dr. William & Elizabeth Blackburn House

Back Next 219 South Tyler The Blackburn House is one of the oldest remaining residential buildings in the City of Pierre and has been the home of several prominent members of the community. H. O. Fishback, a banker and real estate speculator, constructed the house in...

Brink-Wegner House

Back Next 110 East 4th Street Built in 1904, the Brink-Wegner House is one of Pierre’s most ornate and interesting homes. The Queen Anne, shingle-style home contains one of the best period interiors in the State, including a mural ceiling in the dining room....

Chicago and North Western Railroad Bridge

Back Next Missouri River The Chicago and North Western (C&NW) Railroad completed this bridge in September 1907. The bridge provided the first permanent Missouri River crossing in central South Dakota linking eastern South Dakota and the west river region. It also...